(044) 9342055 info@loretomullingar.com
Select Page

Transition Year

Transition Year (TY) is a one-year programme taken after Junior Cycle and before the two-year Leaving Certificate programme.

General Information on Transition Year:
It is designed to act as a bridge between the Junior Certificate and Leaving Certificate programmes.
It is available to all second-level schools and currently some 550 schools offer the programme.
Transition Year may be optional or mandatory for students depending on the individual school’s policy.
Each school designs its own Transition Year programme, within set guidelines, to suit the needs and interests of its students.
In establishing its own distinctive programme content, the school takes into account the possibilities offered by local community interests.

There is no state examination at the end of Transition Year. Assessment is usually carried out on an ongoing basis and can include school-based assessment of projects or portfolios, oral, aural, practical and written activities.
Evaluation of activities such as work experience or community service will often involve the providers or hosts of such activities.
Some modules may have their own assessment arrangements.

Transition Year in Loreto College:
The 2019/2020 academic year saw almost 100 students opt to take Transition Year in our school, our highest number to date.

During this year, students study the normal range of academic subjects:
Irish, English and Mathematics
Modern Foreign Languages
General Science
Home Economics
Business Studies
Information Technology (I.T.)
Religious Education

The following areas are also offered on a modular basis:
First Aid
Self Defence
Media Studies
Transition Year GAA Future Leaders

In addition the students undertake:
Project work
Work Experience
Visit a range of places of economic, social, historical, religious, political and scientific interest
Participate in outdoor pursuits
Engage in social activities in the local community
Have lectures from visiting guest-speakers on a wide range of topics

Our Transition Year Coordinator is Ms Catherine Gallagher.